About this blog…

“It’s my belief that history is a wheel. ‘Inconstancy is my very essence,’ says the wheel. ‘Rise up on my spokes if you like but don’t complain when you’re cast back down…. Mutability is our tragedy, but it is also our hope. The worst of times, just like the best of times, are always passing away”.’   

– Boethius, The Consolations of Philosophy

This is a blog about the things that make me happy.  Most of the things I write about will probably be very small things.  Some of them will probably seem rather materialistic and shallow.  Some of them – I hope – will be a little bit more profound.   The point is, happiness and contentment are a bit too ephemeral for my liking.  It took me until my 30s to realise that you have to work at them both.  Happiness is a mutable state (Boethius above, puts it better than me) – just as pain and sadness are.

Which is just as well, because this summer (2012), I’m scheduled to have major orthopaedic surgery.  No Olympic marathons for me!  I have a condition called hip dysplasia, which means my hip sockets are not formed properly and it is painful and difficult for me to walk.  When I found out, I thought nobody could help me.  I thought I would be in a wheelchair for life.  It is the only time in my life that I was so frustrated and angry I wanted to throw things.  But it got better – with the help of a lot of physiotherapy (up to 3 hours a day), the pain became manageable for a while.  I got a great six pack too!  Now, when I go out with a walking stick or crutches, people stare because I don’t look like someone with a disability.

Buns of Steel – Can’t Get Up Stairs

Despite appearances to the contrary though, things are getting worse.  It’s painful to walk, painful to sit, painful to lie down.  I’m tired all the time, and then I feel guilty for being tired and sore and not doing enough with my family or at work.

I do not know anyone else with my condition, but I have found some blogs telling the stories of other young women who have undergone a PAO (peri-acetabular osteotomy) – or even two, just like I need.  I decided to write another blog which tells the story of the PAO alongside all the other things that make up life.  So I will tell my hip story, but I hope that most of my posts will be about other stuff.  The things that actually get me through.  The things that remind me that the worst of times are passing away.

Here’s a bit about me.  I am in my 30s and in 2009, I married my delicious husband (let’s call him Irish, which was the nickname he gave himself on the Internet Dating site where we met).  He is retired (!) due to a severe injury he sustained on military operations in 2003.  We look after each other.  I have two equally delicious (though not in the same way) stepdaughters, aged 12 and 8.   We live with a Bengal cat and five unruly chickens in The House, in an ancient village in the middle of darkest Devon, in England.  I have a full-time job, I love my job, but I don’t want to write about that.  I like to eat, and bake, and garden, and knit, and read, and wear lovely clothes and handbags.  And most of all, I like to laugh with my family, every day, as much as I can.

This blog is named after a song that makes me happy.  It’s by Anafey, it’s got a cool oldskool ‘boots-cats’ vibe to it, and like all the best things, gets better towards the end.  You can listen to it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ypl59XewnDk

One more thing.  I would like this blog to be uplifting, but not smug, self-aggrandising, or self-congratulatory – ugh.   Please comment and tell me if I’m doing it right (or wrong).

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Good luck to you on your PAO! I wish I’d been able to do that myself but 6 years ago, the doctors I consulted with said that my chances for success were 50/50 because of the amount of arthritis already in my hips. Oh well. But since I had both hips replaced, I don’t notice them anymore – just like you will.

    My sister-in-law also had PAO done to one of her hips because of hip dysplasia. While her recovery seemed a bit longer than mine (she had strict limitations on the amount of weight she could carry and she had a 3 month old baby!), she’s doing just great today!

    Soon, you too, will know what it’s like to have no pain…and get on with everything you’ve been wanting to do. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you so much for the lovely post Mommytwingirls. 🙂 It’s great to hear that others have had such positive results from the PAO. I think I’ve forgotten what it’s like to be pain free – but I hope that in a couple of months, I’ll start to remember! I’m really glad that the THR route worked for you. Thank you so much for your blog – it has really helped me to read the hip blogs of other people like me. 🙂

      Reply
      • Hst

         /  December 18, 2013

        Hi ya!

        I’m a 35 yrs old young woman from Finland and I found your blog a couple of days ago. During these past days I’ve read your story and recovery from your PAO surgery. I’m facing a THR operation during the upcoming spring and now struggling with daily pain and difficulties to move in any ways. However, i’ve got the same attitude towards this whole situation as you have and I also try to concentrate in positiveness and laughter.

        All the best to you and your family and Merry Christmas! 🙂

        Regards,

        Hst from Finland

Leave a Reply

the yarn identity

Take a seat, grab some yarn, and tell me the first thing that comes to your mind.

hipoptimist

Being happy in Devon with wonky hips

Twentymumthing

Youngish mum, wearing clothes.

Littlebitsofnice

For the little bits of nice, the small things in life and food that makes you smile

paulineknits

Knitting around Dublin - Updated every Monday

Emi 2 Hips

Life Happens When You Least Expect It... stories of living, loving, and life's adventures

harlingenyogacenter

Just another WordPress.com site

hipnothappening

Brought to you by a reluctant hip blogger.

Destination Thrift

Bargains with no boundaries

NARCISSISTA.ME

Where vanity isn't a dirty word

TheSloppyRisotto

Decent, honest student food (by a decent, honest student)

Sugar and Spice Baking

And all the yummy things we are making…

TheHogBlog

Journey through hip dysplasia - and life stuff

Kristenisms...

...knitting...survival...and the meaning of life.

fortyplusandfrazzled

Life really does go backwards at 40

Cute Overload

Cute Overload :D

