A project with heart…

What do you think of these fabulous labels, produced by Katrina who runs our local ‘knit and natter’ group?

Hatherleigh Hooker

Made with Love by a Hatherleigh Hooker!

Quite special, aren’t they?  This little label was put to very heartfelt use this week.  My bestest friend, my lovely bridesmaid, has breast cancer. We have known one another since we got stuck in a cupboard together at the age of 7.  Our parents discovered us after a couple of hours, and we emerged unscathed, but friends for life.  I have no idea how to say how much I care, without sounding pathetic.  There’s no unpatronising way to say I want to wrap her up in love and make it better.

I can’t do that – but I did find a little project that might help, and I wanted to share it because I thought there might be some people out there who would find it useful and inspiring.

The heart pillow project was developed by a breast care nurse who wanted to make life post-mastectomy more comfortable for her patients.  It’s a specially designed pillow in the shape of a heart, which patients can place so that the ‘dip’ of the heart is under their arm.  This eases discomfort associated with post-operative swelling and makes life more comfortable in bed, in the car and so on.

Even for a total beginner for me, it wasn’t hard to make.  It takes just two fat quarters, and I used two different patterened fabrics in 100% cotton.

Pretty pretty fabric

Pretty pretty fabric

So here is my effort.  It’s not perfect, but it’s made with all the love in the world:

Heart Pillow!

Heart Pillow!

Have you spotted the deliberate mistake yet?  Yes, I sewed the label on upside-down (doh).

At least it's readable when the pillow is under your arm..

At least it’s readable when the pillow is under your arm..

Heart pillow projects are starting up in lots of places, with the aim of supplying as many breast cancer patients as possible with pillows made with love.  Organising networks of people to make pillows and donate fabric seems to be key to all of this.  I wonder – is this something that UK craft bloggers can help with?  I know there are lots of crafty people out there (much, much craftier than me).

I can’t do the breast cancer Race for Life – hell, I can’t even walk it!  But I can sew (badly) for life.  Could you sew a pillow every once in a while?  If you’d like to help me think about how we can work on this together, let me know.

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Fantastic pillow and gorgeous labels. What a great idea and cause.x

    Reply

Leave a Reply

the yarn identity

Take a seat, grab some yarn, and tell me the first thing that comes to your mind.

hipoptimist

Being happy in Devon with wonky hips

Twentymumthing

Youngish mum, wearing clothes.

Littlebitsofnice

For the little bits of nice, the small things in life and anything that makes me smile

paulineknits

Knitting around Dublin - Updated every Monday

Emi 2 Hips

Life Happens When You Least Expect It... Tales of a journey through bilateral hip surgery.

harlingenyogacenter

Just another WordPress.com site

hipnothappening

Brought to you by a reluctant hip blogger.

Destination Thrift

Bargains with no boundaries

NARCISSISTA.ME

Where vanity isn't a dirty word

Jules, Jam & Journalism

Blogging about life from the city of Dundee...

Poppy's Style

40 something mom from the UK blogs about fashion, family, friends, and fun!

TheSloppyRisotto

Decent, honest student food (by a decent, honest student)

Sugar and Spice Baking

And all the yummy things we are making…

TheHogBlog

Journey through hip dysplasia - and life stuff

Kristenisms...

...knitting...survival...and the meaning of life.

fortyplusandfrazzled

Life really does go backwards at 40

Diary of a Self-Confessed Geek

and her struggles with anxiety, polyamory and hip dysplasia with a sprinkling of science, Lego and knitting!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

